Who We Are
We are a community of believers, young and old, male and female all created in the "image and likeness" of God. We come from Utica, Whitesville, Philpot, Hawesville, Owensboro and all over Daviess County. Most importantly we come together to serve God and to witness our Catholic lives to others.

Parishioners drawn from Blessed Mother and Immaculate parishes attended the first mass celebrated at Our Lady of Lourdes Church. On that day, September, 6th 1959, Lourdes began a tradition of being a close-knit, faith-filled Christian community.

Bishop Francis R. Cotton established Our Lady of Lourdes and appointed Reverend Victor Boarman as the first Pastor. He began this position on July 10, 1959. The first building included the church and four classrooms, in what is now the west end of the school. The rectory was built next, and in following years the school responded to its growth with a new wing and convent for the Sisters of Charity. A social hall was built behind the school in 1964 and is now used by the school. In 1966, the current church was built and the old one was converted into classrooms. Father Boarman remained at Lourdes for 23 years molding the parish into a strong, caring family unit.

Father Anthony Ziegler was appointed the second pastor of Lourdes in 1982. He served three years, until 1985, when Father Delma Clemons became the third pastor.

In 1989, the parish schools went through a major change. It, along with fourteen other parish schools, consolidated to form the Owensboro Catholic Schools.

In 1990, the parish bought the former Catholic Pastoral Center from the diocese to use as an expanded parish hall, for parish offices, and a larger daycare.

Reverend John Meredith was installed as the fourth pastor of Lourdes Parish in 1995. Upon his arrival, Fr. John initiated many parish activities to assist the spiritual development of the parishioners. Some of these activities included community small groups. These groups were a means of drawing Lourdes parishioners closer to other parishioners in their neighborhoods. He and his staff also developed a summer camp program for youth of the diocese held in June in Brandon Spring, Tennessee. The camp, Power Week, is designed for sixth and seventh graders to bring them closer to Jesus Christ and the Catholic Church. In 1998, Fr. John and Cliff Russell formed a non-profit company called Gideon Productions and through this company brought the parish's Saturday evening liturgy to thousands of viewers via television. The TV Mass is directed to the homebound and reaches into five other dioceses besides our own. And several years ago, the parish purchased a van which primarily serves to bring people to church every weekend.

In 2009 Fr. Brad Whistle was transferred from Precious Blood parish to Our Lady of Lourdes. He has quickly found a home in the hearts of all of the parishioners. His openness and friendly nature have brought a new light to the parish.

In 2015 Fr. Brad was transferred to St. Thomas More in Paducah and Fr. Pat Reynolds was transferred to Our Lady of Lourdes. For the first time in several years, Lourdes also received a newly ordained Parochial Vicar, Fr. Gary Clark.

Our Lady of Lourdes Parish has been blessed to have two of its members become priests - Fr. Maury Riney, son of Tom and Mary Riney, ordained May 7, 1977, and Fr. Brian Johnson, son of Steve and Patty Johnson, ordained May 31, 1997.

Lourdes Parish has grown to 881 family households and many are active in the life of the parish. Some parish organizations include St. Vincent de Paul Society, an active Men's Club, the Parish and Finance Councils, Liturgy Committee, and the Education and Formation Committee. Many other groups help to serve the spiritual needs of the parish. They include the Sunday Religious Education program, Youth Ministry, weekly Bible Study, Home-School Association, Lourdes Day Care Center, Eucharistic Adorers, and the Hospital Visitation Ministry. Also invaluable to the parish are those who bring music to our Masses, those who lector, those who serve as Eucharistic ministers, altar servers and ministers of hospitality.